Post All-Con Blog

This post is a little late considering All-Con ended on the 20th but in my defense I had to attend a conference the next week and had to run another event at the Van Alstyne Public Library this weekend.

All-Con was a blast, though it was a little different then I expected. First, I had never heard of steampunk until I attended the event, and am still a little confused about exactly what it is. The costumes were great and I found myself “people watching” for the first day as some costumes must have been expensive as hell to purchase. That said, there were more cross-dressers then I expected, but they were quickly discarded from the mind after seeing the scantly dressed Princess Leia girls walking around.

Sales were good but the people I met there made the event worthwhile. Maynard Blackoak from Dark Faery Magazine was very generous to us as he is going to review both Eldohr Adventures: Search for the Lost Kingdom and The Endlands, as well as interviewing the authors for the magazine. Much appreciation for that.

Also, we met a representative for Twit Publishing, another small press from Dallas, who are taking the same road as HEP in starting their own business. It was refreshing to talk to someone so enthusiastic about the industry, and someone who was down to earth. I wish them nothing but success in their short story anthology Pulp which they are selling right now.

Finally, to see my authors so excited to meet Richard Hatch and Anne Lockhart from Battlestar Galactica was pretty cool, as both Vincent Hobbes and Nathan Palmer are huge fans of the show. All in all it was a great event, though I am still confused about the dolls that everyone was carrying around with them. They kind of creeped me out but if you know what the hell they were, feel free to leave a comment.

About Jairus Reddy

I am a fiction publisher who interviews authors and industry professionals about the industry, other authors, politics and even Hollywood gossip. I also have biased thoughts about the publishing industry, which I blog weekly, to voice my opinions to the public. My company, Hobbes End Publishing, is not looking for new submissions, unless stated otherwise in the future. http://hobbesendpublishing.com/
This entry was posted in Publisher Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Post All-Con Blog

  1. Shane Smith says:

    I saw you at All-Con. Looks like u had a good setup.

  2. Shane Smith says:

    I usually try to when I’m not working. This year wasn’t as busy as last year but still fun.

Leave a Reply

