All-Con 2011

The time has come to begin another round of book signings and I am excited about the start of the season. Book events can be tiresome and stressful when dealing with setup and printing of materials, but this year I am excited as ever to begin to the process.

Why? This year we are starting things off by attending All-Con 2011 in Addison, TX next weekend. I have never attended a fantasy convention and I have heard how fun these things can be. While there is the stress of setup, I can’t wait attend the events they have planned and am very excited about being surrounded by people who enjoy science fiction and fantasy.

Most conventions I have attended in the past were business related, and to be honest, very blah. Just boring really. Just walking around talking business with people who may or may not care about the product you are representing. Sometimes these even feel like a complete waste. Even some book events are boring as you have to hope that the people in the store at the time have an interest in your genre. Many times this can be harder to deal with because you don’t want to bother people walking by if they have no interest in your work. Some will even refuse to make eye contact, afraid you might try to sell them on your book.

But this event is different. Everyone attending will be a fan, no a fanatic, of fantasy which is going to be refreshing. I can’t wait to get my authors into this type of atmosphere and it should be a blast for everyone involved. I even have my authors excited to meet people they admire from television shows who will be at All-Con.

I can’t wait until March 18th when the event starts and all the festivities begin. Plus, it never hurts when they have a burlesque show and a poker game to fill in the time. Sign me up.

About Jairus Reddy

I am a fiction publisher who interviews authors and industry professionals about the industry, other authors, politics and even Hollywood gossip. I also have biased thoughts about the publishing industry, which I blog weekly, to voice my opinions to the public. My company, Hobbes End Publishing, is not looking for new submissions, unless stated otherwise in the future. http://hobbesendpublishing.com/
This entry was posted in Publisher Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

