My Biased Take on Fantasy

As a publisher of mainly fiction, I have received countless fiction manuscript submissions from authors all over the world. They have sent everything from southern mystery, to pure action and adventure fiction, to science fiction. As an avid reader, I am very fond of most types of fiction save one. I am not a fan of fantasy fiction. Not of Tolkien. Not of J.K. Rowling. And not of Stephenie Meyer. While all these authors are literary geniuses in their own right, and world wide best sellers, I am just not fan fantasy. I like reading things that I can grasp in a realistic setting with realistic life situations. This being stated, the most successful book I have ever published, and the series I enjoy most, is the Legends in Time fantasy series. Over the course of this reading you will understand why.

I have tried to read fantasy; I really have, but have never been able to get into it. Tolkien was too wordy for me and his action scenes were very small in comparison to his descriptive passages. I know I will receive many criticisms for stating this, but I just didn’t find Lord of the Rings that interesting. I know he is the father of fantasy but his style of writing doesn’t fit what I enjoy reading. Harry Potter came along when I was too old to enjoy a tale young kids who play games on a broom. Sorry. Call me any names you wish, but I just don’t have that much interest in magic and spells. The Twilight series I have never even opened, but I will say I don’t see myself falling in love with a vampire.

But Legends in Time is different for me. Before you get mad and say I’m just biased and am just selfishly promoting my series, hear me out. What makes this series different for me is that, while it is fantasy, much of the storyline, characters and situations are very much realistic. Legends in Time allow me to get lost in a fantasy world but the most of the situations are very realistic. I can identify with the characters, their decision making and the different scenarios that play out over the course of the series. Yes, there are beasts that are purely fantasy, but all the scenarios are very much realistic and not too over-the-top fantasy which I simply do not enjoy reading.

 Also, the books are pure action and adventure written almost like a television series. There are always conflicts occurring, whether they are fight scenes, simple decisions that affect everyone, or forbidden love. The books are short and not intimidating which allows for a quick enjoyable read and they have all ended with a cliff hanger. Also, there are no true “good guys” in this story as everyone has their own agenda. Hell, sometimes I wish that Veris, the main character in book 1 of the series, would fall on his sword with his seeming inability to look at his empire from a rational point of view. I love not knowing who to root for.

Now don’t get me wrong. I am not criticizing those people who love fantasy, magic and elves. In fact, it has one of the biggest fan bases on the market and probably the most passionate following. It is just not something I am really fond of. The Legends in Time series is the exception to the rule for me as I do love this “realistic” fantasy series.

About Jairus Reddy

I am a fiction publisher who interviews authors and industry professionals about the industry, other authors, politics and even Hollywood gossip. I also have biased thoughts about the publishing industry, which I blog weekly, to voice my opinions to the public. My company, Hobbes End Publishing, is not looking for new submissions, unless stated otherwise in the future. http://hobbesendpublishing.com/
This entry was posted in Publisher Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

