Jordan Benoit Interview

Jordan Benoit is co-author of the Legends in Time series here today with the publisher of Hobbes End Publishing, Jairus Reddy.

JR: What are the positives and negatives about only having two writers in the series as opposed to three?

JB:

P: You don’t have to compromise as much and it isn’t as complicated as there isn’t as much of butting heads about storyline.

N: The work load is much more and is a lot more stressful. 

JR: Why spend 4 hours a day writing a novel when you don’t know if it will ever be published? Sounds a little boring.

JB: You should never go into writing thinking it would be published, you just have the passion to write. An author should never worry about writing to sell yourself out for a buck. It makes writing not fun if you are only thinking about the money aspect.

JR: Money would be nice though right?

JB: Well that goes without question.

JR: Whose a better writer you or Vincent Hobbes?  I mean it’s like Ali vs. Frazier, Yankees vs. Red Sox, Lizzie McGuire vs. Hanna Montana. Sorry ran out of comparisons.

JB: Ha Ha. That’s tough.  We are both good writers and we have two different styles of writing. It’s like comparing apples and oranges. The collaboration of the both us makes the story unique.

JR: Sounds like copout to me.

JB: I’m a rational and logical person 

JR: What’s the easiest and hardest part of writing a novel?

JB: Easiest-coming up with an idea.  Anyone with a creative mind and is attempting to write a novel already has the idea.

Hardest-finishing the project. It is easy to quit writing the story once you get stuck with a problem. Turning it from a short story to a novel takes a lot of dedication. 

JR: What are opinions about the publishing industry?

JB: So far it’s been positive though I’m relatively new to the industry. Dealing with a middle man always complicates situations so you need to watch out who you are dealing with. I love it so far. 

JR: What do visualize taking place this year in your writing career?

JB: I see myself putting out a lot more work and hitting the industry with a bang. I’m anxious to release these quality products to the World and it makes me proud to accomplish these goals. It makes me want to work that much harder. 

JR: Do you like the spotlight of being an author?  (interviews, etc.)

JB: Absolutely. I’ve always been a person who loves the spotlight. I’ve always seen myself as an entertainer though I was shy when I was younger.

JR: Does it help getting the ladies, even though cutting your hair probably hurts the image?

JB: Though cutting my hair hurt my author image, the shorter hair has actually helped me with the ladies. If that changes I will grow my hair out again. 

JR: Whose your favorite LIT character and why?

JB: Lorylle, cause she embodies every girl I’ve ever been close to. Women are a huge part of my life and when I’m writing it’s interesting what I write about her. Plus she’s hot. 

JR: Favorite character in literature?

JB: Lestap De Lioncourt, he one of the main characters in The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice, and I identify with his characteristics. He is refined and witty, kind of like me. 

JR: What do you do for fun?

JB: Not a whole lot of time for that anymore. When I do have time, I love to jam with my band as that is still a passion to me. 

JR: Why are authors so quirky? I mean talking with authors is like pulling teeth sometimes.

JB: I don’t see myself that way, but I do see where you are coming from. I think it has to do the personality of the author. I’m not like that.

JR: Trust me, all authors are. 

Short Answer

Obama first act of his presidency should be to… Dump the mass luggage. 

Paris Hilton should…Stop 

Metallica…is constantly playing on my ipod. 

If I had to pick a last meal it would be…chicken nuggets, mash potato, and mac n’ cheese and on a plate with divider. 

Authors are…the nectar of the gods. 

Publishers are…pain in the butt 

Vincent Hobbes is…a ladies man

About Jairus Reddy

I am a fiction publisher who interviews authors and industry professionals about the industry, other authors, politics and even Hollywood gossip. I also have biased thoughts about the publishing industry, which I blog weekly, to voice my opinions to the public. My company, Hobbes End Publishing, is not looking for new submissions, unless stated otherwise in the future. http://hobbesendpublishing.com/
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

